Prestigious award for Henbury housing developments: Bristol Civic Society Design Award June 2019

14 Jun 2019

Housing and Planning

Prestigious award for Henbury housing developments

Bristol City Council has won a prestigious award for the quality design of three Henbury housing developments.

Peverell Court, Challender Court and Suffolk Close were awarded a Bristol Civic Society Design Award on Tuesday (11 June).

The three developments, which comprise of one and two bed properties, have been designed to meet the Passivhaus building standards that aim to reduce energy usage during construction and once occupied, by adopting a “fabric first” approach to ensure excellent thermal insulation and lower energy bills.

The houses are part of the council’s New Build Housing Programme which began in 2014. All of the sites that form part of the scheme make use of land owned by the council, with a particular focus on derelict, brownfield sites that can be brought back into use such as former garages and depots.

Councillor Paul Smith, Cabinet Member for Housing, said: “I am really pleased to see that we have been recognised for our innovative design.

“All of our new council homes are built to high standards. The three developments which have been recognised have all made use of land reclaimed from former council garages and have been constructed to be extremely energy efficient. This is better for the environment and will also help to dramatically reduce household utility bills.

“I would like to thank our housing team, along with the contractors and architects, for accelerating our build programme and delivering these much needed homes.”

Since the start of the New Build Housing Programme in 2014, the council has built 100 new council homes. There is also an additional 65 homes currently under construction, with 45 due to be completed by August 2019, as part of the council’s ongoing programme.

To keep up to date with the developments, visit:

Picture, left to right, Darryl Mitchard (Melluish and Saunders), Cathy Cooper (Bristol City Council), Martyn Pursey (Bristol City Council), Tom Russell (Emmett Russell Architects), Nathaniel Jeremy (Bristol City Council), Maria Hart (Bristol City Council).