05 Apr 2016

Democracy and Engagement

Have you got your polling card yet?

Bristol residents who are registered to vote can expect to receive their poll cards over the first weeks of April as the city prepares for the biggest elections in its history.

With time running out to register to vote, anyone still not on the register is being encouraged to sign up online before the 18 April deadline. Anybody not on the register come 19 April will not be able to vote in the 5 May elections. To register, visit www.gov.uk/register-to-vote

The majority of citizens in the city have already registered to vote, meaning that over 300,000 polling cards are being sent out to over 150,000 households.

The 5 May elections will give citizens the chance to vote on who will be the Mayor of Bristol, the Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner and their local ward councillor for the coming four years.

Details shown on the card include the location of the individual’s polling station plus the date and times that it will be open.

Anyone who has not received their polling card by 28 April should contact Electoral Services on 0117 922 3400.

Voters are reminded to check their polling cards carefully as their polling station this year may differ from the one they are used to visiting. This is because Bristol’s wards and polling districts have changed following a review carried out by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England in 2015.

The change in boundaries means that Bristol is now made up 34 wards, each one to be represented by either one, two or three councillors following the local election on 5 May.

Registered voters who can’t go to the polling station on 5 May can apply to vote by post or by appointing a proxy to vote on your behalf.

The deadline for postal vote applications is 5pm on 19 April 2016, while the deadline for proxy vote applications is 5pm on 26 April 2016.

To find out more about these elections, please visit:

Bristol Mayor and Local Elections – www.bristol.gov.uk/elections2016

Avon and Somerset Police and Crime Commissioner - www.avonpccelection2016.org.uk